Jaguar to Return To Le Mans

1988 Jaguar XJR 9 Le Mans 24 Hours

Autosport is reporting that Jaguar bosses have signed off a return to the Le Mans 24 Hour, a race that the British marque has won seven times.

Although the official line is that the Tata Motors owned company is “currently monitoring developments in world motorsport”, rumours are suggesting Tata chairman Ratan Tata and Jaguar’s top brass have already decided on a return to the fastest LMP1 class, although precisely when is still to be agreed.  The class has been dominated by Audi and Peugeot in recent years.

Jaguar has won Le Mans seven times, in 1951, 1953, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1988 and 1990.  This last win came the year before Jaguar quit the sport in favour of an ill fated foray into Formula 1, although the company has since worked with independent teams with entries in the lower classes, including a XK GT2 entry in 2010 — the car managed four laps before retiring.

Porsche has previously announced it will also be returning to the sport in 2014.

Car pictured is the 1988 Jaguar XJR 9.


Arash Cars teases new British supercar, will be unveiled on February 28
Lamborghini Huracan has received 700 orders in a month, public debut next month
Is this updated Dacia Logan or a new Datsun saloon?
Hennessey Venom GT "World's Fastest Edition" announced
Caterham Seven conversion with Indy roadster style envisioned by Zolland design
Production version of the Volkswagen Golf R 400 could produce more than 395bhp
Lewis Hamilton declares "war" on Nico Rosberg - who will win in Canada?
BMW unveils one-off i8 Concours d'Elegance Edition for Pebble Beach
Pure electric McLaren P1 for kids has arrived just in time for Christmas
McLaren announces second-generation super series
Infiniti reveals ´Prototype 9' at Pebble Beach
All-new third-gen Bentley Continental GT convertible revealed