Dramatic Weekend at Silverstone

The entry list for the second round of the Toyo Tires BRSCC Porsche Championship on the Silverstone National circuit grew to 28 drivers, although Class B newcomer Michael Goodacre was a no-show. The weekend was to be one of the very rare occasions that races were held on both National and International circuit simultaneously, with Britcar running from The Wing.

Many drivers had opted to test on the Friday and all were putting in improved times on 2012, thanks to the dry and cool conditions. Rick Styrin again set the pace, but quite a few drivers would be vying for second place. Again the weather held for qualifying and it looked like Steve Boyles and Will Sharpe would be repeating their excellent performances of Rockingham, with Adam Croft a very credible 4th in a car concocted from Rick’s 2012 Championship-winning “Red Rocket” and parts from his own Boxster, having blown its engine on Friday.

Steve Boyles hot on the tail of Rick Sytrin

Steve Boyles hot on the tail of Rick Sytrin

In the 924s, Hen Sharpe was almost casual in his pole position with Alastair Kirkham and Simon Hawksley both within a 10th of a second behind. Julian Brown was able to beat Rebecca Jackson’s unproven 986 by more than a second for the Class B pole.

The drivers were met by a brief hailstorm as they drove to the assemble area on the Saturday afternoon. To describe the track conditions for Race 1 as “slippy” would be a massive understatement – it seemed that more drivers ended up having a spin than not. Together with a safety car intervention, a total of five cars didn’t make the finish line, including Nick Hull and Adam Croft who performed a perfect pirouette into the gravel at Becketts, narrowly missing each other. Chris Valentine span at Copse leaving him mid-track and broadside to the oncoming hordes of 924s – fortunately all of whom missed. Rick Styrin took the win but series newcomer Jonathan Greensmith got his first podium of the season with 2nd and Steven Boyles took third.

924 graduate from 2012 Rebecca Jackson finally got her Class B Boxster on track and made the most of her favoured wet conditions to win the first race ahead of Julian Brown. She wasn’t so lucky in Sunday’s race where their fight, in pursuit of Class A back marker Chris Valentine led to her spinning at Woodcote leaving Julian to take the win.

In the 924s, Hen Sharpe once again delivered a win with Clive Morison making his now familiar podium appearance for 2nd and Alastair Kirkham third. Peter Smith took the fastest lap in this class despite only finishing 6th.

The forecast for Sunday had suggested a dry race but the appearance of a massive dark and threatening cloud had the team mechanics frantically checking and setting suspensions for the assumed downpour. In the end, intermittent showers were all that we encountered and the race was mostly uneventful. Except, that is, for two drivers who managed to miss waved yellows and fell foul of the Clark of the Course who descended on them like a tonne of bricks. Rick Stryin was very lucky to avoid loosing his Class A outcome, but Karl Rossin, who was most apologetic and despondent when interviewed afterwards, was disqualified from the result.

So for Class A Rick Styin took the win with Will Sharpe second and Steven Boyles grabbing his second podium of the weekend with third place. Hen made it a double in the 924s and Alastair Kirkham and Clive Morison swapped places to take 2nd and 3rd respectfully.

The next round of the season sees the teams and drivers head to the Dutch circuit of Zandvoort, helped in no small part by Stena Line ferries whose Donald Dingwall presented the trophies this weekend.

Photo © Dennis Goodwin Photography 2013


Espresso Veloce Serie Titanio V12 coffee machine inspired by F1 engine costs £9,000
Nissan's compact 1.5-litre three-cylinder turbo for the ZEOD RC produces an impressive 400 horsepowe...
1600 horsepower highly modified Jeep/Buggy drives 305metres on water - new world record
NASCAR: The Sprint Cup Hopefuls
Snetterton Proves Expensive for Some
Meadows Cleans Up in Carrera Cup
Lamborghini Huracán GT3 racer unveiled for 2015 season
Two-from-two for Britcar Pair
MSA British Endurance Championship Still Open
Hayes takes BRSCC Boxsters title at Silverstone
New limited edition Lotus EXige CUP 430 revealed
Volkswagen makes history with the I.D. R Pikes Peak