Cadwell Sees Styrin Claim Class Title

Round 7 of the Toyo Tires BRSCC Porsche Championship saw Rick Styin reach sufficient points to claim the Class A Boxsters title for the second year running, with wins and fastest laps from both races.

Rick’s team boss at TF Motorsport, Gerry Taylor returned to the circuit for a guest appearance in a new-build 987 that had never seen a track – and proceeded to post two podiums, reminding all of his considerable racing heritage.

A respectable grid of 18 cars lined up for qualifying on the Saturday morning and Will Sharpe was first to show form posting P2 with Jonathan Greensmith close behind. Rebecca Jackson took a comfortable P1 over Bernie Printy but Alastair Kirkham trailed Simon Hawksley by a mere 0.126 seconds for the 924 pole.

Race 1 proved both eventful and controversial as Will Sharpe’s Boxster span at the Hall Bends summit taking out the 924s of both Tony Mekwinski and Philip Waters, who had also suffered damage at our previous round. Rick Styin took the win over JonathanĀ Greensmith with Jerry Taylor third. Steve Boyles was forced to retire with a gear cable failure. Rebecca Jackson took another win in the Class Bs and Alastair Kirkham was able to nab the lead from Simon Hawksley to take the 924 win.

Will’s Boxster was too badly damaged to take part in Race 2 and Steve Boyles very nearly didn’t make the Class A start line either when his roof blew off during the green flag lap! He was required to start from the very back of the field but quickly carved his way through the 924s. This time round, Gerry Taylor was on fire (not literally) in his shiny new 987 and grabbed second ahead of Jonathan Greensmith in Class A, with Styrin finishing just 0.873 seconds ahead of his Taylor’s Foundary team boss – probably the closest margin of the season.

Hen Sharpe’s exhaust parted company with the rest of his 924 leaving his car sounding very fruity through the dips and crests of the Lincolnshire countryside – but in his haste to take another third from the weekend, he missed a black/orange “apparent mechanical failure” flag and was later disqualified. Rookie Mark Rocca was spat from the circuit at Hall Bends, his 924 clouting the Armco as it sailed across the grass into the tyre wall – fortunately only the car and his pride were damaged.

Alastair Kirkham against frustrated Simon Hawksley with a superb drive to take the 924 win, but the pair battled race-long with Simon desperate for points to help close the Championship gap with Alastair. Rebecca Jackson made it two wins out of two over Bernie Printy in the Production Boxsters.

The final round of the season, a triple-header on the Donington ‘Indy’ circuit on 19/20th October, will see the conclusion of the battles for the Class B and C titles. As the tables now stand, neither Rebecca Jackson (Production Boxsters) nor Alastair Kirkham (924s) can yet count their chickens and the second and third place slots in Class C will be fiercely contested.

Photos: Chris Valentine





Spy Shots: Is this the Ferrari LMP1 race car?
Nissan's compact 1.5-litre three-cylinder turbo for the ZEOD RC produces an impressive 400 horsepowe...
Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 45th Anniversary Edition gets a new bright orange livery
GT Cup Tests the Elements at Silverstone
Volkswagen Beetle GRC racecar is here with 544 hp, 0-60 mph in 2.1 seconds
McLaren 650S GT3 brings a more aggressive look, improved safety and handling
Rossin Takes the Double at Rockingham
750MC Celebrates at Silverstone
Charlie Butler-Henderson: Drifting is on the way up
Ford returning to Le Mans in 2016 with all-new Ford GT race car
Boxster Championship to Go To The Wire
New Peugeot 3008 DKR ready for Dakar challenge