Boxsters Sizzle at Snetterton

The return of the Toyo Tires BRSCC Porsche Championship to the Norfolk circuit saw them share the bill with the British Superkart Grand Prix and FIA/CIK European Kart Championship – so the paddock was awash with officials and media from all over Europe. Forecasts predicted hot weather and that’s exactly what arrived, with temperatures approaching 30C for the Saturday and little respite for the second race on the Sunday.

The largest number of drivers that the series had seen for many years were registered to race and a grid of 31 cars was expected, including the return of two very popular drivers from previous seasons: Sean Siddall, who has moved from a 924 into a Class A “Race Spec” Boxster; and Andrew Hannington, who hired a 924 for one of two “guest” appearances with us this season.

In the briefing on Saturday, drivers were admonished for the damage seen at the last round, Zandvoort, and both the PDA and BRSCC emphasised that the series is expected to be contact-free. Fortunately the warning proved mostly effective, although there was still some damage with Marc Mackenzie’s Boxster being one of the biggest sufferers after a heavy sideways impact with the barrier at the Montreal hairpin.

Echoing the weather, Rick Styrin set a scorching pace in Qualifying of a shade under 2:12 but JM Littman, Steve Boyles and Jonathan Greensmith all showed considerable pace and promise for Class A. Rebecca Jackson was looking to grab a Class B championship lead over Julian Brown in the knowledge that Bernie Printy would miss this round; accompanying them on the grid was newcomer Michael Goodacre. In the 924s, Andrew Hannington proved he hadn’t lost his racing touch grabbing P3 in Qual with Hen Sharpe and Alastair Kirkham both looking quick.

Race 1 on the Saturday afternoon saw an epic battle between Littman and Boyles for the Class A P2 spot – Boyles led for nearly the entire race, with Littman close on his tail and only grabbing P2 in the final lap behind Styrin who took both the win and fastest lap. Sean Siddall, in his first ever race in his new-build Boxster, took a credible 10th.

Julian Brown’s Boxster fell victim to a blown engine, ending a three-way battle between himself, Rebecca Jackson and Chris Valentine. Jackson took the win ahead of Michael Goodacre. The 924s saw the retirements of Peter Smith and Hugh Peart early on, with David Jones making it to lap 6. Alastair Kirkham took P1 over Hen Sharpe’s fuel-starved car and Andrew Hannington landed third.

Hopes for a slightly cooler race on the Sunday were partly dashed by even higher humidity. Nick Hull’s Boxster headed straight to the pits with mechanical failure before the off and Richard Matthews 924 was also a non-starter. Once again Peter Smith and David Jones were non-finishers in the 924s. Hen Sharpe and Alastair Kirkham swapped places in Class C with Hannington again P3. Rebecca Jackson only had Michael Goodacre to beat to take a second win of the weekend, leaving her to narrowly head the Class B table.

The big Class A Boxster battle this time was between JM Littman and Jonathan Greensmith with JM desparate for a second podium of the weekend, but a spin towards the end meant Greensmith retaining P3 behind Steve Boyles with Styrin taking his second win.

Just three weeks away is Round 5 of the 2013 Championship at the short Brands Hatch Indy circuit and its already looking highly likely that the event, for the first time in our history, will be over-subscribed.

Photos: Ian Forinton & Chris Valentine



German drifter sets a new Guinness Record with a 89.55-mile drift in his Toyota GT86
Donington Decider for British GT
Webster Takes Carrera Cup Title
Grid Grows for Carrera Cup in 2015
Anna Walewska Continues British GT Career
Brit Josh Webster in Porsche Supercup talent search
McLaren Sports Series introduces two new track-dedicated models: the 570S GT4 and the 570S Sprint
New Audi R8 LMS GT4 fills the gap between TCR and GT3
Formula E DS E-Tense FE 19 driven for the first time
Volkswagen I.D. R Pikes Peak electric racing car previewed
Volkswagen makes history with the I.D. R Pikes Peak
Nissan to make official on-track Formula E debut